skip navigation
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.


May 3 @ 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm

The Department of Media Study’s PLASMA (Performances, Lectures, Screenings of Media Artists)​ will feature a screening of PLASMA Cinetracts. The Zoom Meeting ID for the lecture series is 959 5554 2975. Email paigesar@buffalo with PLASMA2021 in the subject line for password.​

In 1968, a group of French filmmakers crafted short, quickly made cinematic responses to the political and social upheavals that shook Paris in May of that year. Their Cinétracts​, as they called them, inspired the Wexner Center to commission 20 short films by 20 filmmakers from around the world. The result of that project, Cinetracts ’20, was released online in the fall of 2020. Chris Stults, one of the commissioning curators from the Wexner Arts Center, presented as part of PLASMA in February of this year.

After engaging with Chris Stults and the two previous projects, University at Buffalo undergraduates enrolled in PLASMA 2021 were asked to produce their own one-minute films based on a set of parameters similar to the ones adapted from the 1968 Cinétracts. Compiled and edited by Courtlin Byrd, the complete PLASMA Cinetractswill be screened for the first time tonight.

A kick-off for the DMS Student Showcase “Redefining Community” event series that will run online ​from May 10-13th, PLASMA Cinetracts features work by 70 students: Hector Almonte, Gabriel Aquino, Eashir Arafat, Thomas Atehortua, Mohammed Azman, Steven Ball, Miriam Barker, Jake Bernstein, Paige Bulera, Jasmine Burley, Alex Call, Yige Cao, Umyah Chaney, Hang Chen, Julian Chen, Shiqi Chen, Aisha Chowdhury, Nicholas Christakis, Nick Criscitello, Gianna Cucci, Kacey Dargout, Emma Dickinson, Liam Donnelly, Sandra Fanton, Jason Faublas, Xinyu Geng, Alex Ferrara, Alex Frank, Ryan Galuski, Taylor Gardner, Julius Lopata-Glinsky, Jamie Hamburg, Eric Head, Michael Huang, Mike Hunter, Viktor Ibrahim, Shubh Jain, Quentin Jaryznski, Patrick Johnson, Sean Johnson, Vid Jokic, Dante Lasting, Jamie LeVea, Leon Liu, Madison McKie, Joel Marcellus & Kiana Padilla, Daniel Mauer, Maddie  McCafferty, Hamadi Mganga, Maliyah Mohamed, Callan Monroe, Zach Mooney, Sarah Mullings, Brian Muscato, Adrian Neal, Liv Paolini, Jillian Peracciny, Jameson Reid, Joshua Rizzo, Jessika Schiffer, Tyler Schoonover, Nathan Schuler, Noah Stephan, Michael Stevens, Cydney Teeter, Tom Vellek, Savannah Walker, Jade Wallace, Lance White, and Courtlin Byrd. For more information on the DMS Student Showcase Zoom events and web features, follow DMS on Facebook; Instagram: @mediastudyub; andTwitter: @mediastudyub.

Tonight’s screening will be followed by a brief question and answer exchange.

As always, PLASMA lectures are free and open to the UB community and the public.​ Email paigesar@buffalo with PLASMA2021 in the subject line for password and/or additional information.

Brief remarks addressed to the students who are enrolled in PLASMA as a credit-course will begin at 6:00PM sharp. Tonight’s screening will begin at 6:15 pm.

PLASMA is sponsored by the University at Buffalo’s Department of Media Study and funding is provided by the the Office of the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. The series is curated by Dr. Paige Sarlin, Assistant Professor of Media Study, in collaboration with Liz Park – UB Art Galleries and Squeaky Wheel Film & Media Art Center.

For more information:

The recordings of previous presentations can be found on MediaStudy@UB’s PLASMA 2021 YouTube Channel​.​​​


May 3
6:00 pm - 7:30 pm


Dept of Media Study